It’s Interview Season

OCIs, interview mindset and 1L me's thoughts on the process.

February 10, 2020

The last few weeks have been overwhelming with the amount of assignments I had but now that things are slowing down I have a moment to share an important and exciting post with you all.

It is officially OCI (On Campus Interview) season and that means eager law students everywhere are seeking summer jobs with established law firms and companies.

Meaning the pool is small and it’s competitive, but because we made it through the first semester I know we can do it.

The OCI process can be tough, stressful and really discouraging but it’s also the time to show people who don’t know you, and have only read your resume who you are and what you want to bring to their workplace.

If you are able to gain an OCI spot, don’t take it lightly, and remember to try your hardest to show them who you are as a person not just who your cover letter tells them you are.

If you’ve heard anything about the process, you may know that it is very selective and typically reserved for the very top of the class, and yes usually that’s true.

But I am here to say that they’re available to anyone if you are willing to put yourself out there and work for it.

Unfortunately I did not do my best in my first semester and don’t have the highest GPA in my class, but I still took a chance to apply to the firms I was most interested in and I am so excited to say that I will interviewing with two this week.

So I’m here to say anything is possible if you believe you can do it and put the dream out there.

I can’t wait to share how my experience goes and stay tuned for interview tips and more on OCIs and the job search coming soon!

Also please don’t forget to be happy for your friends and classmates who get one or even several, even and especially if you don’t. Karma is real and it’s never cool to wish anyone bad because they may be the one person wishing you well. Even from afar. It may not seem like people care, or want you to do well, and in my experience I have certainly felt that people don’t want me to achieve my goals and shine my brightest but let those thoughts and noise fuel you. Because it means you have something special and that something may be why a particular firm wants to interview you, and may be why you get a callback or an offer.

Congratulate everyone you know who gets the opportunity to show a company who they are and celebrate their successes as much as your own, and they’ll do the same. It’s so much more fun in law school when everyone is excited for each other and working together. And you never know, you may get the same position and work together, or possibly work together in the future, it’s a small world out there.

Send all the good luck and prayers you can to myself and all the law school students hopeful for the chance to show you they are, thanks for reading!

Also at this time I have put my Instragram on private in order to protect myself during the process, and I apologize for that, please respect that decision, and hopefully I will be back to public when I either get a job, or the job search process is completed for the semester.

xo Kayla