2L Year Recap

On Kayla Moran Blog you can really dive into my law school brain but I wanted to share this reflection post as a reminder that it can look and feel messy and still all work out.

May 5, 2021

Yesterday I officially completed my 2L year of law school and I seriously don’t know how I feel about that.

I’m really happy, excited and ready for school to be over but I’m also shocked that 2 years have gone by so fast. My friends and I have said over and over this week that we’re not ready to be the oldest/“wisest” ones on campus.

We don’t feel like we are, probably because more than half of our time in law school has been virtual or partially virtual. It’s just wild to me that we’ve been through so much together yet we haven’t seen most of our classmates in months.

But we’re all also really happy that our law school journey is almost done and we’re looking forward to a final year in person and filled with fun, events and weekend trips and lots of late nights out dancing.

I’ve mentioned it before but my time in law school hasn’t always been the best or easiest, and not just because of school. My personal life got in the way big time and it wasn’t until this semester that I finally took control and got my life back on track. One I’m excited for and proud of.

This semester has been my best semester of law school yet, and also the busiest and most emotionally draining but academically it was my best performance. I was finally happy in law school, enjoying my classes and I got to create an apartment space that I enjoy being in and that ultimately allowed me to have the best semester yet.

I’m really looking forward to my 3L year too and have lots of exciting plans for both travel and fun with friends and family and also my class schedule, projects I’m working on and to just be back in person and be social again.

There’s no denying law school is hard and it kinda (read: really) sucks sometimes but when it goes by so fast and you stop to reflect on how far you’ve come and how much you’ve grown during your time in law school, it shows just how worth it it all was.

My parents are in town for the week so I can show them around and they can meet some of my friends before we start driving home on Saturday, stopping for Mother’s Day brunch with my brother where he lives and I’m excited for this week too.

I hope everyone is having a good finals week and start to their SUMMER!!!

Thanks for reading!

xo Kayla